Governing Board seeks to improve planning, communication



Governing board members for 1978-79 include (seated, from left) Member-at-Large R.G. Krishnamurthy; Vice President N.O.V. Sonntag; President David Firestone; and Members-at-Large Thomas Smouse, Nicholas Pelick; (standing, from left) Treasurer Frank Naughton; Past Presidents Frank White, Thomas Applewhite, Ralph Holman; and Executive Director James Lyon (ex-officio member). Absent from picture is Secretary Frank Luddy.

The AOCS Governing Board has acted to improve communications and planning internally as well as with other associations sharing similar interests.

The actions, taken during the 69th Annual Meeting in St. Louis, in effect recognize the growing importance of AOCS activities internationally, as well as the increasing importance of educational programs and local section programs within the United States.

Past President Ron Stillman will review AOCS Articles of Incorporation and By-laws to recommend changes. Stillman directed the last major rewriting of those basic documents approximately 15 years ago.

Stillman specifically was directed to consider making the chairpersons of the National Program Planning Committee and the Education Committee members of the Governing Board. In a related action, the Governing Board told those two committees to submit five-year plans outlining future technical and short course programs, with annual revisions.

The Governing Board also discussed geographically balanced representation on the Governing Board, but did not take specific action other than to ask the Local Sections Committee to consider the question. Local sections within the U.S. who do not have members on the Governing Board may send representatives to the Governing Board meetings.

Suggestions for Stillman's consideration should be sent to him.

AOCS' relations with other societies are to be improved. President David Firestone said he will update the list of inter-society affiliations and develop instructions for official AOCS representatives to other societies. Representatives will be instructed to keep AOCS members informed about other societies' work in methodology, analytical programs, check sample programs, meetings, and

other items of interest to AOCS.

Outgoing President Thomas Applewhite said that while it might not be advisable to change the one-meeting-a-year format, alternative plans should be available if a change becomes necessary. The Meeting Logistics Committee will analyze the effect of one meeting per year on AOCS committee work, Vice President Norm Sonntag said.

The Governing Board also approved a scope for the newly formed nutrition committee. The committee is to promote research and development of technology in the nutritional sciences; to organize and conduct meetings pertaining to nutritional aspects of fats and oils and their by-products and otherwise communicate recent developments in those areas to AOCS members; to encourage research in the metabolism and physiological chemistry of lipids; and to promote investigation of qualitative and quantitative effects of natural and synthetic dietary fats on human health and disease.

The Governing Board approved changes in criteria for two AOCS awards. The board added a section to the Merit Award criteria and modified selection procedures for the Honored Student Award. The new paragraph in the Award of Merit criteria reads: "Nominees for the Award of Merit shall not have received any other AOCS award for the achievements recognized by this award. It is specifically intended that any of the four current AOCS officers, past presidents, or honorary members of the Society shall not be nominated for this award. Those persons near retirement or those who have retired should be given preference for this award."

The Honored Student selection criteria will now specify that areas of research to be considered will be fats, oils, and related fields; nominating professors, who must be members of AOCS, will be limited to one nomination per year; up to three awards may be granted to candidates for masters degrees and up to five to doctoral students; a student may receive the award only once; and each nominee must submit an abstract of a paper suitable for presentation at the AOCS meeting and be prepared to present a paper if chosen for an award.

E.L. Boley, Franklin P. Khym, and Jack S. Rini are now emeritus members of AOCS.

Boley, who originally joined AOCS in 1938, worked for the Armour-Dial group for many years, serving as technical coordinator for the Household Products Division. He is now retired. Boley has served on numerous AOCS committees including commercial fats and oils analysis, glycerine analysis, industrial oils and derivatives analysis, Joint AOCS/ASTM D12 subcommittee, and others.

Frank Khym, who has been a member of AOCS since 1944, is a former national secretary for the group and served as general chairman for the 1974 Mexico City meeting and as director of 1967 Latin American Short Course on Fats and Oils. He has served as member and chairman of several AOCS committees. He retired last year from Anderson-Clayton & Co., S.A., and is now living in San Antonio, TX.

Jack Rini, recently retired as vice president and technical director at Humko Products, also has received emeritus membership recognition. Rini, a member of the AOCS since 1939, has served on numerous AOCS committees, serving as a member of the membership and Smalley committees for more than 20 years. Rini has retired to Los Lunas, NM.

The board recommended lowering the required length of

membership service for emeritus members to 30 from 35 years. The recommendation goes to Stillman for study during his review of AOCS Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws.

In addition, the board received reports on the 1977 World Conference on Soaps and Detergents from General Chairman Karl Zilch and Local Chairman Kurt Gehri.

Treasurer E.G. Perkin's report noted that the budgeted net balance of AOCS in recent annual budgets has been declining. The Finance Committee met twice during the St. Louis meeting to discuss a way to improve the society's financial status.

The board received reports from the Long Range Planning, Ways and Means, Education Committee, National Program Planning Committee, Meeting Logistics, Membership, Public Relations, Local Sections, and Publications committees

During its meeting, the Publications Committee approved giving future contributors to monographs two copies of the complete monograph and 20 reprints of their individual papers and providing a \$750 honorarium (accumulative) to editors of future AOCS monographs.

Honors awarded



Nicholas Pelick, left, accepts 1978 AOCS Award of Merit plaque from Dr. T.&. Smouse, chairman of the Award of Merit Committee. The award is bestowed in recognition of current achievements and to serve as a stimulus for those working in various AOCS activities. Pelick, president of Supelco. Inc., has been active in numerous AOCS committees, including service as chairman of the AOCS Foundation Committee.



Applied Science was host for luncheon honoring Dr. Holman and AOCS Honored Students.



Dr. Ralph Holman pauses during Award in Lipid Chemistry lecture.



Past President A.E. MacGee (seated, center) poses with 1978 AOCS Honored Students following the Inaugural Luncheon. MacGee was president of AOCS in 1961 when the award was first established. Others are (standing, from left), F.W. Summerfield, C.A. Rupar, D.B. Davies, M.W. Crossman, and D.A. Luippold; and, seated (from left) Honored Student Committee chairperson Joyce Beare-Rogers, MacGee, and M.G. Murphy. During its early years, the program was named for MacGee.